Connecticut Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Connecticut!
CT Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Stamford to Bridgeport, New Haven to New London, Connecticut has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from downtown Hartford to Lake Waramaug, quaint inns and historic sites of the Revolutionary War. On any given day, they’re used by nearly 3 million licensed drivers. They each travel about 8,700 mile a year each and in thousands of traffic accidents, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Constitution State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Connecticut’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Connecticut state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Connecticut repealed its no-fault status. Under its current tort system, you may be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damage (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Connecticut drivers is:
$20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$10,000 property damage liability
$20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Connecticut does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Connecticut Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Connecticut car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. The fine for a first offense is a minimum of $110, three months of prison time or both. Your vehicle can be impounded. You will have to pay for towing and storage fees until you have provided proof of insurance. Your registration and driver’s license may also be suspended for one month on a first conviction and six months of subsequent convictions. The state also requires all insurance companies to report when a policy is canceled. At that time, you will receive a request from the Connecticut DMV to provide proof of insurance. If you fail to do so within 30 days, you can be fined $200 and your registration may be suspended. You will have to pay a fee to have your registration reinstated.
Connecticut Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Connecticut Insurance Department. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Connecticut also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Connecticut Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Connecticut Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Connecticut. The following laws have recently been enacted in Connecticut and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Texting while driving is banned in Connecticut.
The use of all cell phones is banned for new drivers. The exception is when communicating with law enforcement or in an emergency.
Effective 2013, anyone convicted of distracted driving will receive a penalty of one point on his or her driving record and fines have increased.
Divers convicted of going in excess of 75 mph in a work zone will be required to attend an operator retraining program. Two points will be assessed on driving record and fines increased for conviction of violations of highway work zone safety laws.
Driver education classroom information must now include highway work zone safety and driver responsibilities.
Connecticut Regulating Agencies and References
Connecticut Insurance Department
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014