Hawaii Auto Insurance Guide
Whether you’re on windward Oahu taking the Kam Highway to Haleiwa, on Maui’s rugged road to Hana or driving along Kauai’s south
short from Poipu to Waimea, the Aloha State is full of challenging and enchanting roadways. Sightseeing or commuting,
is crucial to being a responsible Hawaii driver.
Auto Insurance Resources for HI State Residents
There are about 834,000 licensed drivers in the Aloha State in 2010. The Insurance Research Council estimates that about
12% of Hawaii’s resident drivers are uninsured. And then there are all those tourists in rental cars! The Hawaii State
Transportation Department attributes most of the state’s accidents to aggressive or distracted drivers. According to the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s 2008 Crash Statistics, there were 107 fatalities resulting from traffic
accident in Hawaii, the majority were alcohol-related. Uninsured, aggressive, alcohol-impaired and distracted motorists
are all good reasons to be sure you maintain adequate car insurance while living and driving in the Aloha State.
Hawaii State Minimum Car Insurance
Hawaii state law requires you carry a minimum amount of car insurance or face severe penalties. Hawaii is one of just 12
no-fault states, meaning your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the
accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue. In this instance, you can only sue or be sued if an
accident results in medical bills exceeding $5,000 or causes serious injury or death. While Hawaii does not require that you
carry additional personal liability or Collision and Comprehensive coverage, if you own property or other valuable assets,
you would be wise to supplement the minimum requirements shown below:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability for injury or death of one person in an accident
- $40,000 bodily injury liability for injury or death of more than one person in an accident
- $10,000 property damage liability
- $20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury (can be waived in writing)
- $10,000 personal injury protection
Hawaii Car Insurance Laws
Hawaii requires that you carry proof of Hawaii auto insurance in your vehicle and produce it if a law enforcement
officer asks to see it. Unlike many states that allow you to download and print a facsimile, Hawaii requires that you
produce the original card issued by your carrier. The penalty for driving without the minimum Hawaii auto insurance can
be as much as $1,000 for a first offense, up to $3,000 for a second offense and as much as $5,000 for a third offense or
serious accident. You may also have your driver’s license suspended and be required to surrender your plates, which will
involve a reinstatement fee. Under certain circumstances, you can be imprisoned for up to 30 days.
Hawaii does not currently have a database for tracking canceled car insurance policies. However, you must produce proof
of insurance when you register a vehicle or renew your registration.
Regulating Agency and References
Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs/Insurance Division
This agency is responsible for regulating vehicle insurance policies sold in the Aloha State. For more information, visit
their website at
Hawaii State Department of Transportation
Hawaii does not have a statewide Department of Motor Vehicles. Each county is responsible for registering vehicles, and
enforcing penalties. Learn more at:
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
This is an organization of insurance regulators from the 50 states, District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories. NAIC
provides a forum for the development of uniform policies when appropriate. NAIC members are elected or appointed state government
officials who regulate the conduct of insurance companies and agents in their respective states or territories.
Visit NAIC at http://www.naic.org
Insurance Information Institute (III)
This organization’s mission is to improve public understanding of insurance – what it is and how it works. Visit III at
Related Car and Motorist E Insurance Articles
Filing a Car Insurance Claim. What Happens After the Crash?
What to Do When an Uninsured Driver Hits You
Traffic School Can Lower Your Auto Insurance Premiums
How Much Auto Insurance Coverage Do I Need?