Kansas Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Kansas!
KS Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Wichita to Kansas City, Overland Park to Lawrence, Kansas has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from downtown Topeka to the shores of Lake Wilson to the Chisolm Trail, the Flint Hills and historic Dodge City. They’re used by over 2 million licensed drivers, who each travel more than 10,000 miles a year. Along the way, Kansas’s drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every day, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Sunflower State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Kansas’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Kansas state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Kansas is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Kansas drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$10,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
$4,500 basic personal injury protection per person
Kansas does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own property and other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Kansas Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Kansas car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so is a Class B misdemeanor. The penalty for a first offense is fines up to $1,000 or up to 6 months in jail. Fines increase to $2,500 for a second citation within three years of a first conviction. You can also lose your registration and your driver’s license can be suspended. There are also fees to have your license and registration reinstated.
Kansas Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Kansas Insurance Department. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Kansas also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Kansas Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Kansas Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Kansas. The following laws have recently been enacted in Kansas and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Kentucky bans texting for all drivers and there is a ban on all cell phone use (hand-held or hands-free) for student drivers.
Since 2013, there has been a speed limit increase to 75 mph on some multi-lane Kansas highways.
Kansas drivers can lose their driving privileges for conviction of 3 or more moving violations in a one-year period.
All car accidents must be reported to the police if they involve injury or property damage of $500 or more.
All passengers are now required to wear seatbelts and failure to do so is now a primary violation.
Since 2010, it has been illegal to cover any or part of a license plate with any material that affects the plate’s visibility or reflectivity.
Kansas Regulating Agencies and References
Kansas Insurance Department
Kansas Department of Revenue/Motor Vehicle Division
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014