Nevada Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Nevada!
Auto Insurance Resources for NV State Residents
NV Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Washoe to Winnemucca, Elko to Reno, Nevada has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from the slopes of the eastern Sierras to the Mojave Desert, along the Truckee and to the shores of Lake Mead. They’re used by nearly 1.7 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of 8,800 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Silver State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Nevada’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Nevada state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Under Nevada’s tort system, you may also be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Nevada drivers is:
$15,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$30,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$10,000 property damage liability
$15,000/$30,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Nevada insurers must offer you uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but you have the right to reject it. Nevada does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability insurance or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Nevada Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Nevada car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. You can be fined from $250 to $1,000 and your registration may be suspended.
Nevada Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Nevada Division of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Nevada also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Nevada Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Nevada Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Nevada. The following laws have recently been enacted in Nevada and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
There is a ban on texting for all drivers in Nevada.
There is a ban on the use of handheld phones for all drivers in Nevada.
In 2013, authorize driving privilege cards for illegal immigrants.
Nevada Regulating Agencies and References
Nevada Division of Insurance
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014