North Dakota Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online North Dakota all the leading insurers in North Dakota!
ND Minimum Insurance Requirements
North Dakota Beech to Fargo, Minot to Grand Forks, North Dakota has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you North Dakota Rugby, the geographic center of North America, to downtown Bismarck, North Dakota the Red River Valley to the Drift Prairie and the Missouri Plateau. They’re used by nearly half a million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of over 13,000 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Peace Garden State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to North Dakota’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
North Dakota state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. North Dakota is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for North Dakota drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
$25,000/$50,000 underinsured motorist
$150 per week/$30,000 maximum basic personal injury protection
North Dakota does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself North Dakota monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry North Dakota Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of North Dakota car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. Driving without liability insurance in North Dakota is a class B misdemeanor with a minimum mandatory fine of $150. If you are involved in any accident while driving without insurance, the state will automatically suspend your driver’s license.
North Dakota Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the North Dakota Insurance Department. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
North Dakota also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest North Dakota Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes North Dakota a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New North Dakota Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in North Dakota. The following laws have recently been enacted in North Dakota and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
North Dakota bans texting for all drivers.
North Dakota bans the use of all cell phones (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
Effective 2013, North Dakota doubled the jail time and tripled the fines for drivers convicted of driving under the influence. Under North Dakota’s overhauled DUI laws, any DUI involving injury will result in a minimum 1-year jail sentence for the convicted driver; a crash resulting in death will bring a 3-year minimum sentence. Repeat DUI offenders must also participate in a 24/7 sobriety program for at least 1 year.
North Dakota Regulating Agencies and References
North Dakota Insurance Department
North Dakota Department of Transportation
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014