Oklahoma Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Oklahoma!
OK Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Boise City to Broken Arrow, Muskogee to Tulsa, Enid to Norman, Oklahoma has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from downtown Oklahoma City to the Red River, the Tall Grass Prairie Reserve, along the Trail of Tears and into the Ouachita Mountains. They’re used by over 2.3 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of over 12,500 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Sooner State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Oklahoma’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Oklahoma state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Under Oklahoma’s tort system, you may also be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Oklahoma drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
Oklahoma requires insurers to offer you uninsured motorist coverage but you can reject it if you prefer not to purchase it. Oklahoma does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability insurance or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Oklahoma Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Oklahoma car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. The fine for a first offense is $250 and a $275 license reinstatement fee. Maximum penalties can also include a 30-day jail sentence.
Under a new law that took effect in 2013, law enforcement officers can seize your license plates and assign you temporary plates and liability insurance, which is effect for 10 days. They also have the option of impounding your vehicle. The cost of the temporary coverage is added to the administrative fee and any fines you must pay to have your plates returned. If your car was impounded, you will also be charged for towing and storage fees.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Oklahoma Insurance Department. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Oklahoma also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Oklahoma Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Oklahoma Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Oklahoma. The following laws have recently been enacted in Oklahoma and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
There is a ban on texting and handheld devices for Oklahoma drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses.
Oklahoma instituted a new DUI law in 2013 that states that a driver found with any amount of a Schedule 1 chemical or controlled substance in a blood, saliva, urine or other bodily fluid test is considered to be under the influence. Conviction carries a fine of $1,000 and up to 1 year in jail.
As of 2013, a law enforcement officer can seize your license plates and assign you with temporary plates and liability insurance if you are stopped and found to be driving without insurance.
Oklahoma Regulating Agencies and References
Oklahoma Insurance Department
Oklahoma Tax Commission/Motor Vehicle Division
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014