Utah Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Utah!
Utah Minimum Insurance Requirements
From St. George to Sandy, Orem to Ogden, Utah has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from Salt Lake City to the Wasatch Front, to the Bonneville Flats, Bryce Canyon and Park City ski resorts. They’re used by over 1.7 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of over 9,300 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Beehive State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Utah’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Utah state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Utah is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Utah drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$65,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$15,000 property damage liability
$3,000 personal injury protection
$25,000/$65,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
You can reject in writing the “loss of income” portion of the PIP requirement and all uninsured/underinsured coverages. Utah does not require you to carry additional coverage Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Utah Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Utah car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. Driving without insurance in Utah is a Class B misdemeanor with a minimum $300 fine. The maximum penalty is up to 180 days in jail and $1,000 plus a 90% surcharge. You will have to make a mandatory court appearance. If you are convicted of driving without insurance in Utah, you may also be required to carry SR-22 coverage.
Utah Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Utah Insurance Department. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Utah also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Utah Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Utah Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Utah. The following laws have recently been enacted in Utah and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Utah bans texting for all drivers.
Utah defines careless driving as moving violation other than speeding while distracted.
Utah bans all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
Since 2013, there has been a ban on smoking in cars in Utah where children 15 and younger are present.
Since 2013, Utah has expanded the speed limit to 80 mph on several freeways statewide.
Utah Regulating Agencies and References
Utah Insurance Department
Utah Motor Vehicle Division
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014