Wyoming Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Wyoming!
WY Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Caspar to Cheyenne, Laramie to Gillette, Wyoming has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from foothills of the Rocky Mountains to the Big Horn Canyon, into the heart of Yellowstone and along the banks of the Snake River. They’re used by about 400,000 licensed drivers, who each average over 16,000 miles a each year. Along the way, they’re involved in thousands of traffic accidents, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Equality State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Wyoming’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Wyoming state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines. Wyoming has a tort system, which means that if you are found to be at fault in a car accident, you can be sued for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Wyoming drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$20,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
Uninsured coverage can be rejected in writing if you prefer not to purchase it. Wyoming does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Wyoming Auto Insurance
Wyoming requires you to carry minimum liability insurance or proof of financial responsibility and provide proof if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can involve severe penalties. It is a misdemeanor that carries fines between $250 and $750 for a first offense, and up to $1,500 for a second offense. You can also receive a jail sentence of up to 6 months. Your driver’s license can be suspended until you show proof of coverage by filing an SR-22 certificate with the Wyoming DMV. You vehicle’s registration will be suspended if your policy is canceled or allowed to lapse.
Wyoming Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Wyoming Department of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Wyoming also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Wyoming Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Wyoming Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Wyoming. The following laws have recently been enacted in Wyoming and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Wyoming has a ban on texting for all drivers
Wyoming bans the use of all cell phones (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
Since July 2013, Wyoming drivers can legally exceed the speed limit by up to 10 mph on a 2-lane highway to pass vehicles traveling slower than the speed limit. The posted limit must be 50 mph or higher and motorists may only pass one vehicle at a time.
In 2013, Wyoming increased the prison time for habitual drunk drivers. Any 4-time offender will now face up to 7 years of imprisonment (up from a previous maximum of 2).
The Wyoming DOT is authorized to charge a $125 fee to anyone applying for an ignition interlock restricted license.
Wyoming Regulating Agencies and References
Wyoming Department of Insurance
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014