GET A QUOTE
Select a Product

Zip Code

Maryland Auto Insurance Guide

    Whether you’re heading over to Annapolis to see the Midshipmen play, cruising the Eastern Shore on Highway 50 from Chester to Cambridge or rolling into Baltimore for an Orioles’ game at Camden Yards, there plenty of history, scenery and sports excitement in the Old Line State. From Brunswick to Baltimore, Manchester to Ocean City, car insurance is crucial to being a responsible Maryland driver.
    Auto Insurance Quotes

 

Auto Insurance Resources for MD State Residents

As of 2010, there are over 3.5 million licensed drivers in the Old Line State. The Insurance Research Council estimates that 12% of Maryland’s drivers are uninsured. In 2008, the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration a total of 95,349 traffic accidents, 539 were fatal, resulting in 592 deaths. While the number of crashes and traffic fatalities in Maryland have been dropping, the number of accidents attributed to aggressive driving have steadily increased – up from 3,909 in 2004 to 6,111 in 2008. Alcohol and drugs were responsible for 8,145 accidents in 2008. Uninsured, aggressive and drug-impaired drivers are all good reasons to be sure you have enough car insurance while living and driving in the Old Line State.

 

Maryland State Minimum Car Insurance

Maryland state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance or face severe penalties. Maryland has a tort-based system. If you cause an accident, you can be sued. Maryland also requires that you carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. While Maryland does not require you to carry additional personal liability or Collision and Comprehensive, if you own property or other valuable assets, you would be wise to supplement the minimum requires shown below:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • $40,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability
  • $20,000/$40,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
  • $15,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage
  • $2,500 personal injury protection (PIP)

 

Maryland Car Insurance Laws

Maryland requires that you carry proof of Maryland auto insurance in your vehicle and produce it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. If you fail to carry adequate Maryland auto insurance you can lose your license plates and vehicle registration privileges. You may also have to pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance, equal to $150 for the first 30 days and $7 for each day after that. You will have to pay up to $25 to reinstate your registration. In addition, a 5-point violation will be added to your Maryland driving record.

Providing false evidence of Maryland auto insurance can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 1 year in prison.

You will be unable to register any vehicle in Maryland until all insurance violations have been cleared from your record.

 

Regulating Agency and References

Maryland Insurance Administration
This is agency is responsible for regulating vehicle insurance policies sold in Maryland. For more information, visit their website at www.mdinsurance.state.md.us

Maryland Department of Transportation/Motor Vehicle Administration
This is the agency responsible for licensing drivers and registering vehicles. You can learn more about Maryland auto insurance requirements, penalties and related information at www.mva.maryland.gov

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
This is an organization of insurance regulators from the 50 states, District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories. NAIC provides a forum for the development of uniform policies when appropriate. NAIC members are elected or appointed state government officials who regulate the conduct of insurance companies and agents in their respective states or territories. Visit NAIC at www.naic.org

Insurance Information Institute (III)
This organization’s mission is to improve public understanding of insurance – what it is and how it works. Visit III at www.iii.org/

 

Related Car and Motorist E Insurance Articles

  • Filing a Car Insurance Claim. What Happens After the Crash?
  • What to Do When an Uninsured Driver Hits You
  • Drive Safer – Even If You Have Car Insurance, Your Car Crash Still Costs All of Us Money
  • How Much Auto Insurance Coverage Do I Need?
  •  

     

    Last Updated: 12/14/2010