Kentucky Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Kentucky!
KY Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Ashland to Paducah, Lexington to Louisville, Kentucky has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from downtown Frankfort to the Mammoth Caves, down the Mississippi and across the Cumberland Plateau. They’re used by over 3.5 million licensed drivers, who each travel about 11,000 miles a year. Along the way, Kentucky’s drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every day, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Sunflower State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Kentucky’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Kentucky state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Kentucky is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Kentucky drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$10,000 property damage liability
$10,000 personal injury protection
Kentucky does not require you to carry additional coverage such as uninsured and under insured motorist insurance or Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own property and other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Kentucky Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Kentucky car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so carries a penalty of $500 or more plus court cost between $150 and $200 for a first offense. In addition, the state can cancel your registration.
Insurers in Kentucky are required to provide the state with a list of insured drivers. If the state does not receive notification that you have insurance, you will be sent a notice to provide evidence of coverage. If you do not provide it within 30 days, your registration will be canceled until you can provide proof.
Kentucky Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Kentucky Department of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Kentucky also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Kentucky Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Kentucky Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Kentucky. The following laws have recently been enacted in Kentucky and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Kentucky bans texting for all drivers and there is a ban on all cell phone use (hand-held or hands-free) for novice drivers.
Since 2012, Kentucky’s seat belt law has included 15-person passenger vans.
Kentucky law requires calling the police to the scene of any crash when there are injuries or property damage in excess of $500. If the police cannot come, a written report must be filed with the state police within 10 days.
Kentucky Regulating Agencies and References
Kentucky Department of Insurance
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet/Motor Vehicle Licensing
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014