Minnesota Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Minnesota!
MN Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Rochester to Duluth, St. Cloud to Minnetonka , Minnesota has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from the Twin Cities to the Prairie Parkland to the Eastern Big Woods. They’re used by more than 3.2 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of 10,600 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Minnesota’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Minnesota state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Minnesota is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Minnesota drivers is:
$30,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$60,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$10,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
Minnesota does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Minnesota Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Minnesota car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. You can be fined $200 or more, although if you are unable to pay, the court may require community service. You can be jailed for up to 90 days. Your driver’s license and vehicle registration can be suspended until you provide proof of insurance. Repeat offenses can result in higher fines, mandatory jail time and/or revocation of your driver’s license.
Minnesota Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Minnesota Department of Commerce Insurance Division. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Minnesota also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Minnesota Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Minnesota Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Minnesota. The following laws have recently been enacted in Minnesota and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Minnesota bans all forms of text-based communication while driving. There is a ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
As of 2013, undocumented immigrants are still barred from getting legal driver’s licenses in Minnesota.
Minnesota Regulating Agencies and References
Minnesota Department of Commerce/Insurance Division
Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014