Mississippi Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Mississippi!
MS Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Biloxi to Hattiesburg, Tupelo to Natchez, Mississippi has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from the Cumberland Mountains to the Gulf of Mexico, through historic Civil War battle sites, into the heart of the Delta Blues and on to downtown Jackson. They’re used by over 1.9 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of 13,000 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Magnolia State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Mississippi’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Mississippi state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Under Mississippi’s tort system, you may also be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Mississippi drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability
Mississippi does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability, uninsured/under insured motorist insurance or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Mississippi Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Mississippi car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. A first offense can carry a fine of $1,000 and your driver’s license can be suspended for one year or until you provide proof of Mississippi vehicle insurance coverage.
Mississippi Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Mississippi Insurance Department . Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Mississippi also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Mississippi Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Mississippi Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Mississippi. The following laws have recently been enacted in Mississippi and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
There is a ban on texting for novice drivers.
Mississippi drivers and passengers must wear seat belts. Children under 2 must be in a carrier. There is a fine of $25 for each violation.
Nathan’s Law, passed in 2011, requires motorists to stay at least 10 feet from a stopped school bus. Violators can be fined up to $750 for a first offense. A second offense carries a fine and up to a year in prison.
Mississippi Regulating Agencies and References
Mississippi Insurance Department
Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014