Nebraska Auto Insurance Guide
Ready for a car insurance quote?
Compare rates online from all the leading insurers in Nebraska!
NE Minimum Insurance Requirements
From Scottsbluff to Kearney, Fremont to Grand Island, Omaha to North Platte, Nebraska has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you the across the Great Plains, along the banks of the Missouri and into downtown Lincoln . They’re used by over 1.3 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of 10,300 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Cornhusker State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Nebraska’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
Nebraska state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Under Nebraska’s tort system, you may also be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Nebraska drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability
$25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Nebraska does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability insurance or Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Nebraska Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Nebraska car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. A first offense carries fines of up to $500. Repeat offenders can be fined up to $7,500. Your license and registration will be immediately suspended until you can show proof of insurance.
Nebraska Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Nebraska Department of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Nebraska also allows insurers to consider your credit history to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Nebraska Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Nebraska Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Nebraska. The following laws have recently been enacted in Nebraska and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
There is a ban on texting for all drivers in Nebraska.
There is a ban on the use of all cell phones for novice drivers.
Nebraska Regulating Agencies and References
Nebraska Department of Insurance
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Insurance Information Institute
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Last Updated: 3/7/2014