Georgia state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Under Georgia’s tort system, you may also be liable for actual damages (expenses associated with property damage and medical costs), economic damages (lost wages and earning capacity) and emotional and physical pain and suffering.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Georgia drivers is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$25,000 property damage liability
Georgia does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist, personal liability or Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry Georgia Auto Insurance
Georgia law requires that you carry proof of Georgia auto insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. A conviction can carry a fine of not less than $200 and not more than $1,000, imprisonment of not more than 12 months, or both. You will be required to appear in court and show proof of insurance, at which time the court may impose a fine not to exceed $25.
If you are convicted for driving while your license is suspended, your privileges will be suspended for an additional 6 months.
Your license can be revoked for 5 years if you are declared a habitual violator for any third conviction of a mandatory suspended offense within a 5-year period.
Georgia insurers are required to electronically report insurance information including terminations, additions and deletions of vehicles from existing policies to the Department of Revenue.
Compare Car Insurance Rates
Simply enter your zipcode to compare car insurance rates and find the best coverage.
Georgia Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Georgia Office of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Georgia also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Georgia Car Insurance Policy
You may be able to lower the cost of your premiums in the following ways:
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Georgia Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Georgia. The following laws have recently been enacted in Georgia and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
There is a ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice drivers.
There is a ban on texting for all drivers.
Since 2012, Georgia drivers seeking new or renewed drivers’ licenses have been required to provide three forms of identification including an original or certified birth certificate, social security card and proof of address.
Georgia drivers convicted of repeat DUI offenses are required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device, and are responsible for any and all costs associated including installation, leasing, maintenance and removal.