From Allentown to Scranton, Harrisburg to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania has thousands of miles of roadways. They’ll take you from downtown Philadelphia to the shores of Lake Erie, from the Appalachian Mountains to the Lehigh Valley. They’re used by over 2.8 million licensed drivers, who each put in an average of over 7,700 miles a year. Along the way, those drivers are involved in thousands of traffic accidents every year, including many that result in serious injury or death. Wherever you live and drive in the Keystone State, carrying adequate car insurance is both a legal requirement and commonsense protection. This is your guide to Pennsylvania’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws. Pennsylvania state law requires you to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties that may include monetary fines and jail time. Pennsylvania is a no-fault state. That means your insurance will pay your injury claims up to a specified limit, regardless of who caused the accident. Under a no-fault system, you lose some of your rights to sue for damages.
The bare minimum car insurance requirement for Pennsylvania drivers is:
$15,000 bodily injury per person per accident
$30,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
$5,000 property damage per accident
Pennsylvania does not require you to carry additional coverage such as personal liability protection, uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance and Collision and Comprehensive. However, If you own property or other valuable assets, supplementing the minimum requirements can help you protect yourself from monetary loss.
Penalties for Failure to Carry State Auto Insurance
You are required by law to carry proof of Pennsylvania car insurance in your car and show it if a law enforcement officer asks to see it. Failure to do so can result in severe penalties. You will face a minimum $300 fine. Your registration and driver’s license can be suspended for 3 months. You will have to pay $50 each to restore your registration and license. Your vehicle cannot be driven by you or anyone else while the registration is suspended.
Pennsylvania Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the Pennsylvania Department of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
The type of car you are insuring
Prior auto insurance coverage
How much you drive
Your driving record
Your marital status
Your geographic location
How long you’ve been driving
Whether or not you use your car for business
Pennsylvania also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
How to Get the Cheapest Pennsylvania Car Insurance Policy
Ask about available discounts for good driving habits, anti-theft devices, multiple cars on one policy, bundling your car insurance with your homeowners or renters policy, automatic or online payments and driving a hybrid or electric car
Compare quotes from a variety of providers on this website
Eliminate unnecessary coverage
Check to see if you qualify for any low-cost auto insurance program your state may offer
New Pennsylvania Driving Laws
Laws regarding driving and car insurance can change frequently. It is your responsibility to stay current about the legal requirements in Pennsylvania. The following laws have recently been enacted in Pennsylvania and may affect your insurance coverage decisions.
Pennsylvania bans texting for all drivers.
Pennsylvania’s Steer Clear law requires drivers to move over or slow down when they encounter an emergency scene, traffic stop or disabled vehicle. Conviction carries a maximum $250 fine and up to 90 day’s suspension of driving privileges if the offense resulted in a serious injury to another person.
There is no truth to the rumor that Pennsylvania has banned New Jersey-licensed motorists from driving on Pennsylvania highways unless their cars are clearly marked with Student Driver signs. That was a hoax that circulated on social media.