Driving Statistics for the Grand Canyon State
Arizona is the 14th largest state by population, but the 6th largest in terms of land area. Although Arizonians aren’t crunched for space on their roads, they are rather unsafe drivers, as shown by them ranking the 3rd highest in deaths per mile driven in the country.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Miles Driven (millions)||66,145|
Fatality Facts 2018 State by State
Arizona Car Insurance Requirements
In efforts to keep its drivers safe, Arizona institutes a required minimum amount of insurance to operate a motorized vehicle.
Bodily Injury (BI): $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident.
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an accident.
Property Damage (PD): $10,000 per accident.
Coverage for damage to other people’s property.
Unique Driving Laws
The Grand Canyon State has a few laws, unique to Arizona, that may help keep you safe while cruising through the state.
- Many states’ laws governing child transit safety are based on a child’s weight. Arizona’s law states that children under 5 years of age must ride in a car seat, and those between 5-8 years of age and under 4 feet 9 inches must ride in a booster seat.
- Drivers can be cited for driving under the influence of alcohol; no amount of alcohol is exempt.
- Citations can be issued if your license plate holder covers the name of the state on the plate.
- Motorcyclists under 18 years of age must wear a helmet, while those older than 18 are not required to do so.
- Drivers that proceed into a known flooded area, then subsequently require emergency assistance are fined.
Arizona Teen Driving
The Grand Canyon State has a staged process that allows drivers to partake in real-world driving scenarios in efforts to gain crucial driving experience. By the end of the process, Arizonians can obtain an unrestricted drivers license.
- At 15 years and 6 months of age, a teenager can apply for a graduated instruction permit. They would need to visit a local exam office accompanied by their parent, and pass written knowledge and vision tests. If a graduated instruction permit is acquired, a teenager:
- Can drive when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.
- Is required to practice driving for at least 30 hours, including 10 at night, all while supervised.
- Teenagers that have turned 16 years of age, have possessed a graduated instruction permit for at least six months and can provide proof that they have completed 30 hours of practice driving, can apply for a graduated driver license. They also must pass a behind-the-wheel driving test. Teenagers with a graduated driver license are:
- Allowed to drive alone, but not between the hours of midnight and 5am (some exceptions are granted).
- Prohibited from driving with more than one non-family member passenger under the age of 18, unless a licensed parent or legal guardian is with them.
- If the teenager has no suspensions for the first six months of driving with a graduated driver license, they may drive without restrictions until they turn 18 years of age, and are then able to apply for a Class D driver license.
Top Insurance Carriers in Southwest Region (includes AZ, CO, NV, NM, UT)
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- The Hartford (5 out of 5 stars)
- State Farm (5 out of 5 stars)
- Allstate (3 out of 5 stars)
- American Family (3 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for Arizona
Although Arizona is the 3rd least safe state regarding driving in the country, Arizonians on average, only pay about 6% more for car insurance than the rest of the U.S.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Arizona Car Insurance
Drivers in the Grand Canyon State aren’t paying much above the country’s average for car insurance, however, the discounts below can help soften the impact of this expense.
- Multi-Line: combine multiple policies, from home and condo, to life and motorcycle, with your auto policy and receive a discount.
- Telematics: install a device in your vehicle or download an app that monitors your driving, and receive discounts up to 15% based on your driving tendencies.
- Distant Student: if your child attends school more than 100 miles from home, you could qualify for a discount.
- Retirement Community: drivers that are above 55 years of age with a legal residence within a retirement community are eligible for a discount.
- Youthful Driver: drivers that live in a household where there are other drivers that are under 24 years of age, could be eligible for a discount.