Driving Statistics for the Prairie State
The Prairie State is the 6th largest state by population. Its land locked nature makes it the 3rd largest state measured by total lane mileage from highway statistics 2018. As a result, Illinoisans find themselves driving a lot.
|Year: 2017||Statistics (totals)|
Illinois Vehicle Insurance Requirements
Illinois has a basic insurance limit requirement that is common for a number of states.
Bodily Injury (BI): $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an at-fault accident.
Property Damage (PD): $20,000 per accident
Coverage for damage to other people’s property due to an at-fault accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM)* : $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses associated with BI or PD caused by an uninsured or uninsured driver.
*This coverage can be rejected
Unique Driving Laws
The Prairie State offers quite a bit of road to drive on, which makes it even more important to pay attention to its quirkier laws.
- Illinois requires drivers to renew their licenses every four years.
- Funeral processions always have the right of away, and its illegal to pass or attempt to join them in efforts to gain the right of way.
- Crash reports must occur within 30 minutes of the accident.
- Drivers must show a continuous turning signal for 100 feet in residential areas and 200 feet in all other areas before making the turn.
- Headlights must be used when windshield wipers are in use due to weather.
- Motorcycle riders are allowed to pass through an intersection if a red light doesn’t turn green in 120 seconds, if they yield to oncoming traffic.
Illinois & Teen Driving
The Prairie State employs a three-stage process to develop its young drivers. Teenagers begin with an instruction permit, then an initial driver’s license, and eventually are awarded a full license.
- Upon turning 15, any teenager, with the written consent of their parent/legal guardian can apply for an instruction permit.
- The instruction permit is awarded after completing an approved driving course.
- Teenagers with an instruction permit (list below not exhaustive):
- Can only driver under the supervision of a licensed parent or adult 21 years of age or older, who must be in the front passenger seat.
- Are required to practice driving for at least 50 hours, including 10 hours at night.
- Cannot drive between 10:01pm and 6:00am Sunday – Thursday, and 11:01 and 6:00am Friday – Saturday.
- Teenagers who turn 16 and have driven conviction-free with an instruction permit for at least nine months, can apply for an initial driver’s license.
- Upon turning 18, those who have driven conviction-free for at least six months with an initial license are eligible for a full license.
- Those teenagers between 18-20 years of age that did not attend driver’s education must complete a six-hour driving training course prior to applying for a driver’s license.
Top Insurance Carriers in the North Central Region (includes IL, IN, MI, OH, WI)
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- Westfield (5 out of 5 stars)
- IN Farm Bureau (5 out of 5 stars)
- Erie (5 out of 5 stars)
- COUNTRY Financial (4 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for the Prairie State
Illinois is in the middle of the pack as it relates to annual car insurance expenses, ranked as the 27th most expensive state. Illinois vehicle insurance coverage cost about 11% less on average, than the rest of the U.S.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Illinois Vehicle Insurance
Although drivers in Illinois enjoy slightly less insurance premiums than the rest of the U.S., it wouldn’t hurt to save a few dollars on your next renewal. Below lists a few discounts that are typically offered by carriers in the Prairie State.
- Carpool: discounts are often offered to those participants in car pools.
- Low Mileage: typically, those drivers that drive under 7,500 miles annually, qualify for a discount.
- Mature Driver: drivers over 50 are typically offered a policy credit.
- College Student: discounts are offered to those students that attend college over 100 miles away from home. The caveat is that you cannot take your vehicle with you.
- Good Student: discounts are typically offered to those students that maintain a ‘B’ average or better.