Driving Statistics for the Old Line State
Maryland is a fairly congested state, ranking as the 9th smallest state within the U.S. according to land area, and the 19th largest according to population. Although there’s not much road available in the Old Line State, Maryland drivers are incredibly safe, ranking as the best 8th safest state in the U.S. as measured by death / miles driven.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Miles Driven (millions)||59,775|
Fatality Facts 2018 State by State
Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
Maryland keeps its drivers and streets safe by requiring every vehicle to carry a minimum amount of insurance coverage.
Bodily Injury (BI): $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident.
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an accident.
Property Damage (PD): $15,000 per accident.
Coverage for damage to other people’s property.
Unique Driving Laws
The Old Line State’s driving laws are highly effective, as shown by its ranking in the top 10 safest states in the U.S. Below are a few laws to watch out for while driving in Maryland.
- Mopeds and scooters are allowed on roads that have a maximum speed of 50mph or less.
- Headlights must be activated anytime windshield wipers are on, or if visibility becomes less than 1,000 feet.
- Drivers must maintain a minimum distance from the vehicle in front of them of four seconds.
- It is illegal to use a cell phone while driving. However, those drivers over 18 years of age can use a hands-free cell phone device.
- Drivers must leave a minimum of 3 feet between their car and bicyclists.
Maryland Teen Driving
The Old Line State enlists a multi-stage licensing process that eases drivers onto the road by allowing them to gain real world driving experience in a safe environment. Its effectiveness is supported by how safe Maryland drivers are as compared to the rest of the U.S.
- Once a teenager reaches 15 years and 9 months of age, they can apply for a learner’s permit, with the co-signature of their parent or legal guardian. They must also pass written knowledge and vision tests. While driving with a learner’s permit, a teenager:
- Can drive when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.
- Must obtain at least 60 hours of certified practice driving, including 10 at night.
- Teenagers that have turned 16 years and 6 months old, have held a learner’s permit for 9 months, completed a driver education course, and maintained a conviction free driver record, are eligible for a provisional license. Provisional license holders:
- Are allowed to drive unsupervised between 5am and midnight, and may only drive between midnight and 5am when driving for employment or school activities.
- During the first 5 months of the provisional period, cannot have passengers under the age of 18, unless the passengers are family members.
- Upon turning 18 years of age, teenagers are eligible for a full unrestricted license if they have held their provisional license for at least 18 months.
Top Insurance Carriers in Mid-Atlantic Region (includes MD, DE, DC, NJ, PA, VA, WV)
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- NJM Insurance Co. (5 out of 5 stars)
- Erie Insurance (5 out of 5 stars)
- Geico (4 out of 5 stars)
- The Hartford (4 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for Maryland
Maryland is one of the safest states in the U.S., however, drivers in the Old Line State pay on average, 15% more for auto insurance than the rest of the U.S.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Maryland Car Insurance
The discounts listed below may be able to provide a bit of relief for Maryland drivers regarding their auto insurance expense.
- Bundle: combine your auto and home insurance and qualify for as much as a 30% discount.
- Accident-Free: remain accident free and receive a discount.
- Advance Quote: receive a quote at least 8 days prior to your renewal date and qualify for a discount.
- Telematics: install a device in your vehicle or download an app that monitors your driving, and receive a discount based on your driving tendencies.
- Good Student: if you are a full-time student between the ages of 16 and 24, and maintain a certain grade point average or scholastic class ranking you can qualify for a discount.
- Multi-car: insure more than one vehicle and receive a discount.