Driving Statistics for the Bay State
Massachusetts is small in terms of square mileage, however, it’s the 5th most densely populated state in the United States. Given space is such a scarce commodity in the Bay State, safe driving is crucial.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Vehicle miles traveled (millions)||66,772|
Fatality Facts 2018 State by State
Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements
Massachusetts is one of twelve no-fault states within the U.S. As such, a driver’s insurance is triggered regardless of who is at-fault regarding an accident.
Bodily Injury (BI): $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an at-fault accident.
Property Damage (PD): $5,000
Coverage for damage to other people’s property due to an at-fault accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $8,000
Coverage for medical expenses for the driver and passengers from an accident.
Unique Driving Laws
The Bay State has a few unique driving laws that you should watch out for when either visiting, or even if you already call it home.
- License plate lights are required.
- Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic device while driving, including a cell phone.
- Headlights must be on if windshield wipers are being used.
- It’s illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.
- Although its illegal to wear headphones while driving, those drivers over 18 are allowed to wear them in one ear only.
- All drivers are required to utilize the two-second rule when following another vehicle.
Massachusetts & Teen Driving
Although Massachusetts is the 15th largest state according to population, it has the 8th most colleges out of all the United States. As such, there are quite a few teens out on the road. Below lists a few key teen driving laws for the Bay State.
- Must be 16 years of age to apply for a Learner’s Permit, which would allow the holder to operate a vehicle only under the supervision of an adult 21 years of age or older, who’s had their driver’s license for at least one year.
- A teenager 16.5 years of age or older, that has held their Learner’s Permit for at list six months, can apply for a Junior License. A Junior License allows a teenager to drive unsupervised, but with several restrictions, of which one is, they are prohibited from driving between 12:30am and 5am unless accompanied by their guardian.
Top Insurance Carriers in New England (includes MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT)
- Amica Mutual (5 out of 5 stars)
- State Farm (4 out of 5 stars)
- Geico (4 out of 5 stars)
- Allstate (4 out of 5 stars)
- Progressive (3 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for Massachusetts
Massachusetts is the 9th most expensive state when it comes to annual car insurance expenses. Drivers in Massachusetts spend 17% more on average on car insurance, than the rest of the U.S.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Massachusetts Drivers
The Bay State is in the top ten most expensive states in the U.S. regarding auto insurance costs. Below are a few Massachusetts discounts that are often overlooked, that could help soften the blow of your auto insurance expense.
- Public Transit: many insurance carriers provide discounts if you can show that you utilize the Mass Transit System consistently.
- Low-Mileage: although you will be required to fill out a form each year detailing your odometer, and your carrier will need to verify its accuracy, if you don’t put many miles on your vehicle annually, you could qualify for a discount.
- Years Licensed: the longer you’ve been a licensed driver, the more discount you can receive from certain carriers.