Driving Statistics for the Garden State
The peninsula we affectionately call New Jersey is the 4th smallest state when measured by area, but the 11th largest when measured by population. This dichotomy makes the Garden State the most densely populated state in the U.S.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Miles Driven (millions)||77,539|
Fatality Facts 2018 State by State
New Jersey Car Insurance Requirements
New Jersey is one of twelve no-fault states within the U.S. As such, a driver’s insurance is triggered regardless of who is at-fault regarding an accident.
Bodily Injury (BI): $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an at-fault accident.
Property Damage (PD): $5,000 per accident
Coverage for damage to other people’s property due to an at-fault accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $15,000 per person / accident
Coverage for medical expenses for the driver and passengers from an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) : $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses associated with BI or PD caused by an uninsured or uninsured driver.
Unique Driving Laws
The Garden State has a few special driving laws that you should take note of, especially given it’s the most densely populated state in the country.
- New residents of the Garden State must obtain a New Jersey issued licensed within 60 days of moving to the state.
- Drivers must yield the right of way whenever not doing so could end in an accident; even if the other party is technically in the wrong.
- Drivers must yield to postal vehicles reentering traffic, at all times.
- All drivers are required to make a concerted effort to remove all snow and ice from the outside of their vehicle prior to driving it.
- It’s illegal to have a car idle for more than three minutes unless the driver is in a drive-through or traffic.
New Jersey Teen Driving
The Garden State utilizes a graduated-type licensing system to govern the path to a driver’s license for teenagers. Teenagers begin with a permit/probationary license, then with adequate driving practice, obtain their basic driver license.
- Any teen 16 years of age can submit an application to receive a permit. After completing the requisite written and vision exams, as well as driving with a certified instructor for at least six hours, teenagers can receive their permit.
- Teenagers with a permit (list below not exhaustive):
- Cannot drive between 11:01pm and 5:00am
- May not transport more than one passenger
- Cannot use any electronic devices while driving (including a phone)
- Must display Graduated Driver License decals on any vehicle they drive
- Teenagers that have held their permit for at least one year and are 18 years of age, can apply for a full license.
Top Insurance Carriers in Mid-Atlantic Region (includes NJ, DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, WV)
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- NJM* (5 out of 5 stars)
- Erie (5 out of 5 stars)
- Geico (4 out of 5 stars)
- The Hartford (4 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for New Jersey
New Jersey is the most expensive state when it comes to annual car insurance expenses. Drivers in the Garden State spend 40% more on average on car insurance, than the rest of the U.S.
New Jersey: $1,309
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for New Jersey Car Insurance
Insurance carriers understand that the Garden State is the most expensive state in the U.S. regarding auto premium expenses. As such, there are several discounts that can help soften the blow. Make sure you explore them all.
- Full Coverage: although it may be more expensive in terms of sheer dollar amount, adding comprehensive and collision coverage to your policy could come with significant discounts.
- New Car: purchasing a new car could trigger a premium discount.
- Affinity: there are several organizations in New Jersey that include insurance related discounts for members.
- Advance Quote: obtain a quote at least 8 days before the renewal of your current policy and qualify for a discount.
- Paid in full: if you opt to pay your policy in full versus in installments, you can qualify for a meaningful discount.