Driving Statistics for the Lone Star State
Texas is the second largest state by both population and land mass. Although there are several miles of highway, and a ton of drivers in the Lone Star State, Texans generally are safe drivers, ranking 17th in deaths per mile driven.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Miles Driven (millions)||282,037|
Fatality Facts 2018 State by State
Texas Car Insurance Requirements
The Lone Star State requires Texans to carry a minimum amount of insurance when operating a vehicle.
Bodily Injury (BI): $30,000 per person / $60,000 accident
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an at-fault accident.
Property Damage (PD): $25,000 per accident
Coverage for damage to other people’s property.
Unique Driving Laws
Texans are generally safe drivers, as shown through their low death per mile driven total. This safe environment is in part due to the laws the Lone Star State has in place. The more unique laws are listed below.
- Drivers are prohibited from sending or receiving text/electronic messages while operating a vehicle.
- Its against the law to leave your car keys in the ignition if your vehicle is unattended.
- It is legal to drive on the shoulder of the road to pass a vehicle.
- Drivers can be fined if they open their doors while operating a vehicle.
- Its deemed illegal to operate a vehicle without windshield wipers, but not illegal to operate one without a windshield.
Texas Teen Driving
The Lone Star State employs a multi-stage process whereby drivers progress through, all while gaining exposure to different driving situations and ultimately being awarded a license.
- At age 15, teenagers are qualified to apply for a learner license. They must visit an exam office with their parent, and pass written, sign recognition and vision tests. Learner License drivers:
- Can only operate a vehicle with a licensed driver 21 years old or older sitting in the front seat.
- Must practice driving for at least 30 hours, including 10 at night.
- Teenagers that turn 16, have had their learner license for 6 months, and have completed the required practice, can apply for a provisional license. In order to obtain a provisional license, teenagers must complete a driving test and driver’s education course. Drivers with a provision license are allowed to drive alone, but:
- Cannot transport more than one person under 21 who is not a family member.
- May drive between the hours of midnight and 5am only when accompanied by a licensed parent, or if they are traveling to/from school, employment or for a medical emergency.
- Drivers that are 18 and have completed the provisional license stage are eligible for an unrestricted license.
Top Insurance Carriers in Texas
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- TX Farm Bureau (5 out of 5 stars)
- Allstate (3 out of 5 stars)
- Geico (3 out of 5 stars)
- State Farm (3 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for Texas
Although Texas has reasonably safe drivers, Texans don’t reap the rewards, as they pay on average 8% more for their insurance than the rest of the country.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Texas Car Insurance
Although Texans are safe drivers, given on average they pay more in car insurance than the rest of the country, understanding the discounts below may come in handy.
- New Vehicle: have a relatively new vehicle, and you could qualify for a discount.
- Good Student: if you are a full-time student between the ages of 16 and 24, and maintain good grades, you could be offered a significant discount.
- Affinity: those Texans that are part of certain organizations are typically offered discounts.
- Home and Car: bundle your home and car insurance with the same carrier and receive discounts up to 17%.
- Accident-Free: maintain a clean record free of any accidents for at least 5 years and receive a discount.
- Advance Quote: order a quote over 8 days before your current insurance expires and qualify for a discount.