Driving Statistics for the Sunshine State
Driving in Florida can be quite dangerous. As you could imagine, the 3rd largest state measured by population, averages over 1,100 crashes per day. Needless to say, you need to keep your head on a swivel while driving through the Sunshine state.
|Year: 2018||Statistics (totals)|
|Red Light Camera Violations||296,759|
|No Proof of Insurance Violations||173,478|
Car Insurance Florida Requirements
Florida is one of twelve no-fault states within the U.S. As such, a driver’s insurance is triggered regardless of who is at-fault regarding an accident.
Bodily Injury (BI): $10,000 per person / $20,000 per accident
Coverage for expenses related to the injury of people due to an at-fault accident.
Property Damage (PD): $10,000
Coverage for damage to other people’s property due to an at-fault accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $10,000
Coverage for medical expenses for the driver and passengers from an accident.
Unique Driving Laws
Every state has a few of their own, unique and quirky driving laws that hint towards the character of the state. The laws listed below will provide a bit of insight into driving habits of Floridians.
- Ban on texting while driving.
- Cannot use a handheld device in a school or construction zones while workers are present.
- Must move over a lane when a car is stopped for an emergency, or reduce speed to 20 mph under the stated speed limit.
- Can be issued a ticket if you’re driving to slow. Must drive the speed limit or with the flow of traffic.
Florida & Teen Driving
We’ve all been there. Entering the teen years, and excited to gain the freedom of traveling wherever and whenever you please. Just make sure you, or your teenage children have the proper credentials, insurance, and of course, gas!
- Must be at least 15 years old to acquire a Learners License.
- Learner’s License allows you to drive during daylight hours for the first 3 months, then until 10p.m. after.
- Can acquire your Driver’s License at 16 years of age, but still will not be able to drive between 11pm and 6am unless you are driving from work, or with a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older.
- Drivers that are 17 years old with their Driver’s License cannot drive between 1am and 5am unless they are driving from work, or with a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older.
Top Insurance Carriers in the Sunshine State
- Allstate (5 out of 5 stars)
- Esurance (5 out of 5 stars)
- USAA (5 out of 5 stars)
- State Farm (3 out of 5 stars)
- Geico/Liberty Mutual: tied (3 out of 5 stars)
Average Insurance Expenditure* for Florida
Florida is the 5th most expensive state when it comes to annual car insurance expenses. Floridians spend 35% more on average, on car insurance than the rest of the U.S.
*Defined as annual cost of insurance regardless of mix of coverage (liability, comprehensive, collision)
Insurance Information Institute
Often Overlooked Discounts for Car Insurance Florida
Given the Sunshine State is the 5th most expensive state in the U.S. regarding auto insurance, you will need all the discounts you can get to drive your insurance expense down. Below are a few Florida discounts that are often overlooked.
- Autopay: enroll in autopay with your checking or savings account and typically your insurance carrier will award you with a small discount.
- Advanced Renewal: renew your policy with the same carrier and you could be eligible for a discount. Check how many days in advance you need to renew to qualify, as the number of days can vary between carriers.
- Low-Mileage: annual miles driven less than 12,000 could be considered low mileage and could qualify you for a discount.